Rolex China Sea Race 2020 – International entries building Up for 30th Edition

This Year the 30th edition of the biennial Offshore Category 1 race, run by the cosmopolitan Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club (RHKYC) under the auspices of RORC will start. Since 2007, Rolex has partnered with the Club as well as its flagship Race.

Into the 30th edition of Rolex China Sea Race 13 boats currently entered the race. A new Bryon Ehrhart’s Maxi 72 Lucky will be seen competing in the 30th Rolex China Sea Race as it is been among the first six international entries hail from as far afield as  United States, Russia, Philippines, Japan mark the first sign ups for this for Asia’s bluewater classic.

In 2014, Ehrhart competed in the race on his TP52 and taking 2nd place IRC Overall and this time it is back for the 565nm Category 1 offshore race.

Last October, the new 72ft Lucky took part in series of maxi events across the Mediterranean including Rolex Capri Sailing Week, Rolex Giraglia, Palermo to Monaco and the Maxi Yacht Rolex Cup and took Monohull Line Honours in the recent Hong Kong to Vietnam Rally 2019 setting a new course record for the 673nm race in an impressive time of 41h30m20s.

Cookson 12 Megazip representing Russia is owned by Alexey Mashkin which took 3rd place in IRC Racer division 1 in the 2016 Rolex China Sea Race.

Two Beneteaus from Phillippines and Japan are set to compete in the Rolex China Sea Race for the first time although Hurricane Hunter owner Albert Altura will be competing in his second China Sea Race.

Chinese entry Seawolf 2 return for their fourth Rolex China Sea Race after the Ker 42 climbed from 3rd place IRC Overall in 2016 to 2nd Place IRC Overall 2nd place in 2018.

The Rolex China Sea Race 2020 will start on 8 April 2020 in front of RHKYC Club’s Kellett Island clubhouse in Hong Kong’s spectacular Victoria Harbour and will finish in Subic Bay, Philippines.